The Memlinc – an icon in the heart of Knokke

The Memlinc has been a landmark on the Belgian coast since 1923. The Norman-style building has a rich history, from famous hotel guests to difficult war years and trendsetting concepts.

Today, The Memlinc is the last hotel in Knokke that faces the sea. The facilities, the historic character, and the friendly service of our permanent team all ensure that our guests are more than happy to return. Whether it’s summer holidays with the kids or an aperitif with friends, everyone feels at home at The Memlinc!

It’s a family affair!

A major common denominator throughout the history of The Memlinc is family! Today, the fourth generation of the Deklerck family is at the helm of the hotel. It was clear right from the very beginning that the family had a healthy dose of entrepreneurial spirit. Whereas other hotels in Knokke had English names, the family looked much closer to home with the quintessentially Flemish Primitive ‘Memlinc’.

Even now, the family continues to bring about innovation. The first Skybar on the coast was opened on the roof of The Memlinc several years ago, and the Bistro will be getting a significant makeover in early 2020. The result is a pleasant place for spending time throughout the day in a family-oriented, easy-going atmosphere.

a rich history

1894

Louis Deklerck founds Hôtel de Bruges, opposite Margarethakerk in Knokke. He later also became the Mayor of Knokke.

1922

His son, Emile Deklerck, buys Hôtel de Bruges and starts building Hotel Memlinc together with his wife Augusta Cosyn.

30 june 1923

Memlinc Palace Hotel opens with a festive celebration! This is followed by several glory years, and the world-famous singer Lucienne Boyer performs here.

1930

Emile and Augusta divorce. Augusta continues the hotel on her own. She was a “lady boss” before the term even existed…

1940-1944

German troops occupy the hotel and use the basement as a storage area for munitions. After the liberation of Belgium, the Canadian infantry move into the heavily damaged building.

1948

Augusta dies, and her daughter Martha takes on the management of the hotel.

1950

André Deklerck takes over the hotel from his sister and invests in major renovation work. Each room is fitted with a bathroom, the third-floor gains mansard roofs and the east side of the hotel is extended.

1954

André marries Renée Krittlé, the daughter of a Parisian family of hoteliers.

1964

A new wing is constructed on the west side. “Weekend Getaways” in the Casino mean that the hotel can now also remain open during the winter months.

1966

Prince Bernhard of the Netherlands inaugurates the new seminar room.

1977

The hotel is fitted with double-glazing in the wake of the oil crisis.

1988

André leaves the Memlinc Palace Hotel to his son, Christophe. Enter the next generation!

1988

Christophe is immediately faced with significant challenges due to extremely strict fire regulations. After several major investments, the hotel fully complies with the standards.

1990

10 rooms are transformed into 3 spacious apartments, perfect for family holidays.

1992

: Restaurant Naïade opens. Even people who are not hotel guests enjoy dining here!

1992

The hotel rooms are gradually given a through makeover.

2005

The Palace opens its doors! A lounge bar combined with a restaurant is a unique combination that hits the bull’s-eye.

2007

Seafood lovers can now dine at the seafood restaurant Ecailller. Oysters, lobsters and seafood, all with sea-view included. What’s not to like?

2015

The Skybar with its 360° panoramic view becomes “the place to be” in summer.

2020

The Palace is transformed into a trendy, easy-going Bistro. The family legacy continues under the strong name “The Memlinc”!

Previous
Next

Bistro reserveren

Seafood reserveren

Event reserveren

The Memlinc Logo

This website uses cookies to ensure that you get the best experience on our website.